Jobs Career Advice Signup

TWAS-Fayzah M. Al-Kharafi Award

Updated on May 07, 2020 1928 views
TWAS-Fayzah M. Al-Kharafi Award

Deadline Extended: 20 May 2020

Eligible Nominees from: Science- and technology-lagging countries

Field: Chemistry, Mathematics, Physics or Engineering Sciences

Age limit: None

Potential candidates:

Nominations for the 2020 award are invited in Chemistry, Mathematics, Physics or Engineering Sciences.

Nominees must be female scientists national of a ST-lagging country and have been living and working there for at least two years immediately prior to their nomination (i.e. from 18/2/2018).

Fellows of TWAS are not eligible.

For a list of the ST-lagging countries, please visit:


A pre-screening of the candidates will be done at TWAS, the nomination dossiers of the qualified candidates will then be submitted to jury members for their evaluation. Based on this evaluation Prof. Fayzah Al-Kharafi will select the winner.

How to nominate a scientist

The 2020 nominations can only be submitted electronically through the on-line platform by clicking on the “NEW NOMINATION” button at the bottom of this page.

To resume working on saved nominations, click on the "RESUME" button at the bottom of this page.

The exended deadline for receiving nominations is 20 May 2020, however we strongly recommend that you do not wait until the deadline but submit the nomination as early as you can to enable us to process it as quickly as possible.


A nomination is considered complete only if includes all of the following information/material:

  • Nominator contact details;
  • Nominee contact details (self nominations are not accepted) and general information on the nominee, including the country where she has been working and living in the past 2 years;
  • Authorization from the nominee (i.e. the candidate) to process her personal data for the purposes of her nomination, in conformity to Art. 13 of the Italian Legislative Decree 196/2003. This authorization can only be submitted through the online platform. The privacy authorization form is available for download in the section ‘nominee’s personal data’. The form must be filled in and signed by the candidate and then uploaded onto the on-line platform;
  • Suggested citation (15-20 words highlighting the nominee's scientific achievements either in Chemistry, Mathematics, Physics or Engineering Sciences);
  • Supporting statement regarding the nominee’s contribution in Social Sciences. Supporting statements should explain in detail the work performed by the candidate and its significance in the relevant scientific context. Clear reference should be made to the scientific impact of the nominee's work. Vague supporting statements will not be considered and will negatively affect the evaluation;
  • Clear and detailed account of any time spent abroad by the nominee in the past two years;
  • PhD: information on subject area, year and awarding institution;
  • Brief information on membership in academies and societies;
  • Brief information on awards and honours received;
  • List of 10 most significant publications listed in an internationally acceptable format;
  • The nominee's brief CV and her complete list of publications are also to be uploaded, separately, onto the online platform.
  • The nominee's h-index in Google Scholar and its associated number of citations.


In particular:

  1. While filling in the form, pay attention to the requirements for each field (e.g. maximum number of characters, file type, date format, etc.)
  2. Run a check using the button of the form menu to verify that mandatory fields have been filled in and the data you entered are accepted. This also saves your form. Every time you run a check, you are taken to the last section of the form named "Submit". Use the form menu to navigate to the previous sections.
  3. After you run a check, fields with NOT ACCEPTED OR MISSING DATA will be highlighted in RED.

Please note that once you have duly modified the content of one or more fields, the red highlight will not disappear until you run again a check.

For quick tips, please click on:

Click below to start a new nomination for the TWAS─Fayzah M. Al-Kharafi Award


Click below to resume working on saved nomination/s for the TWAS─Fayzah M. Al-Kharafi Award


Previous winners of the TWAS-Fayzah M. Al-Kharafi Prize.

2019 – Antonethe Castaneda Mena from Guatemala

2018 – Lydie-Stella Koutika from Congo Rep. for her research in afforestation for improving soil N, C status and P availability of savannas in central Africa.

2017 – Fathiah Zakham, Yemen

2016 – Marian Nkansah, Ghana

* Note: During the TWAS Council meeting held in Hangzhou, China, on 11 November 2019, the request by UNESCO to change the term 'prize' to 'award' for all existing and new TWAS distinctions other than medals was approved and therefore this award scheme is now called 'TWAS-Fayzah M. Al-Kharafi Award'.

Staff Writer

This article was written and edited by a staff writer.

Leave a Comment

Login required
Related Post
Top Post