Jobs Career Advice Signup

Kitui County Recruitment

  • Industry Government
  • Founded N / A
  • Type Public
  • Website
  • Address Tana Athi Water Services Board Building, Ground Floor P.O. Box 33 - 90200,

About Kitui County

Kitui County is located 170Km to the South East of Nairobi City. It covers an area of about 30,496 km2. It borders Machakos and Makueni Counties to the West, Tana River County to the East, Taita-Taveta County to the South, and Embu and Tharaka- Nithi Counties to the North. it is about two and half h... read moreours’ drive from Nairobi and 30 minutes flight by a chopper. Population: 1,147,200 Female: 602,002 Male: 545,195 Growth Rate: 2.1% The Kitui Vision for Economic and Social Transformation Following its mandate as a County, The County Government of Kitui developed this long-term development blue print, "Kitui Vision for economic and social transformation” aimed at guiding its economic and social development for the next ten years up to the year 2025. The envisaged County long-term development blue print covers the economic and investment zones which were endorsed by stakeholders in November 2013. These economic and investment zones include: i) Kyuso-Mumoni-Tseikuru Economic and Investment Zone (EIZ) ii) Mui Basin Economic and Investment Zone (EIZ) iii) Mwingi Town and Environs Economic and Investment Zone (EIZ) iv) Kitui County Headquarters and Environs Economic and Investment Zone (EIZ) v) Kanyangi-Kwa Vonza-Kanyonyoo Economic and Investment Zone (EIZ) vi) Mutomo-Ikutha-Kanziko Economic and Investment Zone (EIZ) Physical &Topographic Features The county lies between the altitude of 400m and 1800m above sea level. The central part of the county is characterized by hilly ridges separated by wide low lying areas and has slightly lower elevation of between 600m and 900m above sea level. The highest areas in the county are Kitui Central, Mutitu Hills and Yatta plateau. Due to their altitudes, they receive more rainfall than other areas in the county and are the most productive areas. To the eastern side of the county, the main relief feature is the Yatta plateau, which stretches from the north to the south of the county and lies between rivers Athi and Tiva. The plateau is characterized with plain wide shallow spaced valleys. Population size and composition Like other regions of Kenya, population dynamics form an integral part of socio- economic and cultural development. The county’s populations was 1,012,709 according to 2009 population and household census report of which 531,427 were females while 481,282 were males and is expected to grow to 1,077,860 in 2012. The population growth rate of the county at 2.1% is slightly lower than the national rate of 2.6%. Ecological Conditions The county can be divided into four agro-ecological zones. These include: Semi-Arid farming zone, Semi-arid ranching areas, Arid-Agro-pastoral area and Arid-Pastoral Zone. Semi- Arid Farming Zone has good potential for agricultural development and is currently either cultivated or under woodlands. The Semi-Arid Ranching Areas are less fertile and are currently used for drought resistance crops and livestock keeping. The Arid-Agro-Pastoral areas are generally suitable for grazing. Finally, the Arid-Pastoral Zones are suitable for rearing of livestock. Climatic conditions The climatic condition varies across the county in terms of rainfall and temperature.The rainfall pattern is bi-modal with long rains falling in the months of March to May. These are usually very erratic and unreliable rainfall. The short rains which form the second rainy season fall between October and December and is abit reliable. The county experiences high temperatures throughout the year, which ranges from 140c to 340c. The hot months are between mid- July & September and January & February. The maximum mean annual temperature ranges between 260 C and 340 C whereas the minimum mean annual temperature ranges between 140 C and 220 C. Administrative subdivisions (sub counties, divisions, locations) The county comprises of 16 administrative sub counties namely; Kitui Central, Lower Yatta, Kitui West, Kisasi, Nzambani, Mutitu, Mutomo, Ikutha, Katulani, Matinyani, Mwingi Central, Mwingi East,Tseikuru, Muumoni, Kyuso and Migwani.The county is further divided into 41 divisions, 152 locations and 404 sub locations EVENTS CALENDAR

Kitui County Jobs in Kenya

291 vacancies
View All Jobs in Kenya Today
  • Kitui County Reviews

    No review available
    Do you currently work in this company or maybe have worked there before? Anonymously Add Review
  • Kitui County Salaries

    Not available Anonymously drop your salary if you are working with this company or maybe have worked with them in the past.Anonymously Add Salary

Kitui County on Google Map

Subscribe to Job Alert


Join our happy subscribers